Settle-petal or your brain will explode (but the world won’t)

Settle petal. A phrase I use far too often when someone needs to calm down. Right now is a personal ‘settle-petal’ moment. 

I have a heap of new learning which I wish to implement in my classroom. I have just made a substantial change to my classroom programme in writing. I should be content with that but am not (and can see areas of tweaking to be done within writing). 

I want to try the flipped classroom model for maths and writing and reading. I honestly think that I am taking on too much in my approach to this. 

Consequently I am going to begin the flipped classroom thing for maths. I have decided that I need to limit it to one group initially or it will become something unmanageable. I will also try having a student film the maths lesson so that it can be viewed again during the independent session. 

Let’s rewind. What do the students need? What will best suit their learning needs?Our current focus is fractions. 

  • One group: get it during the group, but lose all confidence independently. Trial viewing the lesson prior to teacher time, then doing the ‘independent’ task at the table with me. They could continue during the next rotation if necessary. 
  • Another group: quickly grasp concepts but need some clarification afterwards: film the lesson. 
  • Another group: lots of hands-on practical experience, and the ability to self-check. 
  • Another group: self-management skills and lots of practice.

So…assign the groups the above teaching strategies. 

What are the areas of your teaching you need to change? 

  • A lot of time spent dealing with off-task behaviour (usually because the work is too hard for students): need to get past the ‘I can’t’ to the “I can” before this can be properly evaluated
  • Increase focus on group
  • Revisit curriculum knowledge of this area
  • Check that the plan is being followed properly to ensure essential learning covered. 

How will you monitor/evaluate its effectiveness compared to traditional learning methods? 

  • Consider what I already know of the students’ previous learning application habits. 
  • Compare this with observed behaviour and engagement (on-task time) during the maths session (perhaps video and view in fast-forward)?
  • Do this twice a week for three weeks: is this manageable really? Perhaps narrow the focus to my target group for focussed observation. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

